Show All Answers
The sales and use tax for the city is 8.25%. The State of Texas receives 6.25% and the City receives 2% of this tax. The proceeds from the City’s portion of this tax are used to support the general operations of the City and to provide funds for infrastructure improvements and economic development. Specifically, 1.5% of this tax is deposited in the General Fund of the City, .25% is governed by a private non-profit economic development corporation (established pursuant to Section 4A of the Texas Development Corporation Act of 1979), and the remaining .25% is governed by a private non-profit corporation designed to make infrastructure improvements to attract economic activity to the community (established pursuant to Section 4B of the Texas Development Corporation Act of 1979).
The City’s property tax rate on real property is $0.694321 per $100 of assessed value. In other words, the owner of a $100,000 home, would pay the City $694.32 in property taxes. These taxes are collected by Wichita County through an inter-local agreement between the City and the County. The proceeds from this tax are deposited in the General Fund of the City and used to support general operations such as police and fire protection, street maintenance, traffic control, parks and recreation, library service, engineering service, health and safety, and general finance and administrative services.
Reporting frequency and information required by the City as part of the City/Federal guidelines will vary based on the funding use and award. Those details will be outlined and finalized upon award and signed agreement with the City if a non-profit organization is awarded funds.
Yes. Funds must be obligated by December 31, 2024, and spent by December 31, 2026.
American Eagle Baggage Information
If flying out of Wichita Falls, you are encouraged to inquire with the TSA officers at the ticket counter about any items you may be unsure are approved for carry on. This will allow you the opportunity to place any unapproved items in your checked bag or return them to your vehicle. This will also speed up the screening process at the checkpoint.
Do your part to stop the spread of rumors by doing three easy things:
1. Find trusted sources of information.
2. Share information from trusted sources.
3. Discourage others from sharing information from unverified sources.
Look for emergency warning signs* for COVID-19. If someone is showing any of these signs, seek emergency medical care immediately:
*This list is not all possible symptoms. Please call your medical provider for any other symptoms that are severe or concerning to you.
Call 911 or call ahead to your local emergency facility: Notify the operator that you are seeking care for someone who has or may have COVID-19.
Yes, burial plots are for sale in Rosemont, Lakeview and Riverside. The new plots in Riverside have different pricing. See the web page on "Prices" for complete details.
See the web page on "Prices" for complete details.
Applications are available at https://wfpdnow.com/citizen-police-academy/. You may also contact Officer Jeff Hughes (firstname.lastname@example.org) or Officer Brian Masterson (email@example.com) for more information.
The Citizen Academy is open to everyone who is at least 18 years old. Every generation has been presented in past sessions.
The academies generally last about 13 weeks. The current academy meets on Monday evenings from 6 pm to 9 pm.
According to State law, there are 2 uniform Election dates: The second Saturday in May and the first Tuesday in November. In 2015, the City Council adopted an ordinance moving the general election of officers to the November election date. The Mayor and Councilors serve for a term of three years.
Natural disaster emergencies such as tornadoes and hurricanes have the potential to disrupt power supply and the ability to pump water. This is not the case when dealing with a pandemic. The Public Works Department anticipates having continuous electricity to pump water with. Per the Environmental Protection Agency, "The COVID-19 virus has not been detected in drinking-water supplies. Based on current evidence, the risk to water supplies is low. Americans can continue to use and drink water from their tap as usual. "Locally, the treatment plants practice a multiple-barrier technique of treatment to ensure the safety of our water. Disinfection is most important therefore measurements are taken hourly. We do not anticipate any disruption of water services due to COVID-19.
Yes, employees are trained and utilize a variety of masks depending on the type of work being done. In addition to masks, signage has been posted throughout all facilities reminding employees to practice proper hygiene as well as covering these topics during safety meetings. Daily operations have been adjusted to help prevent the spread of a virus, should it occur. All divisions are monitoring supplies and supply vendors to ensure necessary materials and chemicals are on-site as needed. Staff is also monitoring the health of our employees and developing alternative plans to ensure critical services are not interrupted in the event the COVID-19 is spread to Wichita County and our city.
For more information regarding drinking water and COVID-19, follow the CDC’s website here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/php/water.html
The Wichita Falls Health District is actively monitoring the on-going situation. We are in constant communication with local, state, and federal agency partners as well as meeting regularly with the community-wide COVID-19 task force. The task force consists of representatives from The Wichita County Health District, City and County officials, Texas Department of Emergency Management, United Regional, Kell West Regional, Wichita Falls and County ISD’s, Midwestern State University, Vernon College, Sheppard Air Force Base, North Texas Area United Way, Nortex Regional Planning Commission and several surrounding community hospitals and healthcare representatives.
In addition, the Wichita Falls Health District has provided guidance recommendations to community partners regarding routine cleaning, disinfection of places of business, and preventive actions that businesses can take now.
Once we had our first community spread case, that information was no longer included because the risk became wide-spread.
One courtesy letter is sent a year per violation per property. If the issue is not resolved within the stated time frame, citations may be issued without further notice.
In most cases, yes. You will need to speak with the Code Officer who sent you the letter. They can be contacted at the phone number listed on the letter.
Yes. A property owner is responsible for any violations on their property.
No, as long as the vehicles are operable and have current tags and inspection stickers they may be parked in the back yard.
You would need to contact a tow company to remove vehicle(s) from your property. This procedure is called a Private Lot Impound.
No. Code Enforcement Officers cannot look over, under or through privacy or screening fences to view a violation. Code Officers can only inspect complaints that can be seen from public view such as a street, alley, or from another property with the property owner's consent provided that the violation can be seen in plain view from the property without having to look over through or under a privacy or screening fence.
Yes. Each property owner or tenant is responsible for keeping the alley cleaned and mowed to the midpoint of the alley.
No. That would be a civil matter between you and your neighbor.
No. There is no ordinance requiring the removal of dead trees-only the removal of tree limbs that are on the ground.
Please contact the Building Inspections Division at 940.761.7459.
Please contact the Wichita County Appraisal District office at 940.322-2435, or visit their website: https://propaccess.wadtx.com/clientdb/?cid=1
Please contact the Police Department at 940.720.5000.
Please contact the Public Works Environmental Coordinator at 940.761.7670
The actual area that is right-of-way can vary due to several factors, for this reason it is recommended anyone interested in finding property, easement or right-of-way boundaries refer to a survey or plat map of the property. You can reach the Wichita County Plat Office at 940.766.8212
Shipping containers are considered a storage building and a building permit is required to place one on a property. Contact Building Inspections for information on the permitting process at 940.761.7459.
A complaint is a sworn allegation charging a person with the commission of an offense under either state law or a city’s ordinance. As a general rule, anyone who is acquainted with the facts of an alleged offense may file a complaint in municipal court alleging a violation of a state law or city ordinance. Accordingly, if a code enforcement official or code enforcement officer did not see or witness the alleged offense, a citizen must file a complaint. In order for the court to act upon a complaint, the complaint must be sworn to before any officer authorized to administer oaths, including the municipal judge, clerk or deputy clerk of the court, city secretary, city attorney or deputy city attorney.
Proposed Downtown Zoning Realignment Map (per 2018 Freese & Nichols Downtown Zoning Diagnostic Report. Click here to view.
There are 824 properties in the greater downtown area and of these, 183 properties are proposed to have a future change in their current zoning designation.
RDD – River Development District
CBD – Central Business District
GC – General Commercial
LI – Light Industrial
The City of Wichita Falls website includes the Code of Ordinances and under Appendix B – Zoning Ordinance, Section 3000 – Zoning District Types and Regulations it outlines all the permitted and conditional land uses by the zoning district. The following weblink provides access to this information: https://z2.franklinlegal.net/franklin/Z2Browser2.html?showset=wichitafallsset
The first public information meeting will be held on December 9, 2021, at 6 pm in the Ray Clymer Exhibit Hall, known as the Multi-Purpose Events Center (MPEC), in Seminar Room (1000 5th St.). All properties owners and stakeholders in the Greater Downtown Area are invited to attend.
If you receive a meeting postcard or letter regarding a future zoning change for your property, please contact the City of Wichita Falls Planning Division at (940) 761-7451 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact the City of Wichita Falls Planning Division at (940) 761-7451 or email email@example.com with questions or input.
Those wishing to receive updates on the City’s neighborhood revitalization efforts, including work related to the implementation of the Downtown Zoning Diagnostic Report, can sign up through the City of Wichita Falls’ Notify Me page to receive email updates.
No. The Wichita County Appraisal District (WCAD) keeps up to date on zoning classifications throughout the City of Wichita Falls. However, property is appraised based on market values and improvements to both the land and any structures. Tax rates are established by each taxing entity.
A “collection kit” is a kit composed of the necessary materials to collect a sample from a patient. For COVID-19 testing this may include sterile specimen cups, biohazard bags, or special collection swabs with transport containers required for testing.
A “test kit” is composed of the materials/reagents needed to perform high complexity testing in laboratories certified for such testing. For COVID-19 testing this would include PCR reagents: primers, probes, controls, and extraction materials.
Test kits are not available to the general public and are not available in most healthcare facilities. Kits were first available at the CDC and then were distributed to State Public Health Laboratories. Test kits have recently become available in private laboratories such as Quest and Labcorp. Again, these kits are not the simple bedside kits currently available to test for the influenza virus. Most healthcare facilities and physician offices do not have the capability to perform the high-complexity testing currently available for COVID-19.
Yes, to view a list of available facilities click here
Patients with confirmed COVID-19 infection have reportedly had mild to severe respiratory illness with symptoms of:
At this time, the CDC believes that symptoms of COVID-19 may appear in a few days or as long 14 days after exposure. This is based on what has been seen previously as the incubation period of MERS coronaviruses.
A patient is first evaluated by a physician to determine their health status. If the physician feels testing is warranted, they then work in conjunction with the local Wichita Falls - Wichita County Public Health District to assess if that patient has met the criteria set forth by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS).
Final approval for testing must be received from DSHS. If that is approved, the lab specimen is overnighted to Tarrant County LRN lab. Based on current lab capacity, results are typically received within two to four days. If DSHS does not approve testing, and the physician still feels that it is warranted, they can choose to test through a commercial laboratory.
Visit our website for immediate updates:http://bit.ly/cityofwftx-COVID-19
Up to this point, the City has been writing warnings to residents and businesses found violating the ordinance when it was triggered in January. Due to the water levels exceeding 65% in March, staff wrote warnings. As we enter irrigation season, with lake levels lower than 65% and expected to continue to lower, citations will be issued.
Employees from the Water Distribution Department are now patrolling the City. During their patrol, if a customer is observed violating drought restrictions, an orange "WATER VIOLATION OBSERVED," notice will be left at the property with a box checked outlining the violation. If a violation is issued to a business, it will be issued to the manager on duty at the time of the violation or, after hours, the manager identified as the on-site manager at the location where the violation occurred.
Employees who issue citations will never:
-Knock on your door to speak with you
- Ask to come inside your home
-Ask for payment
Employees who issue citations will only:
-Take a photo of the violation occurring
-Leave the orange "WATER VIOLATION OBSERVED" on your door handle
All City employees will be in uniform with a City logo and their name on the front.
You will receive a summons in the mail from the City of Wichita Falls Municipal Court. The summons will include the required appearance date and a copy of the water violation ticket.
The best way to report a violation is through the City's "Report a Concern" program on the website's homepage. https://clients.comcate.com/newrequest.php?id=34
In January 2018, the City completed a $35 million Indirect Potable Reuse project that takes all our wastewater effluents to Lake Arrowhead for storage and ultimate use. This project will recycle up to 16 million gallons per day.
The city cut expenses where feasible, but the cuts do not come close to making up the deficit. For example, non-fixed costs (electricity, treatments, chemicals, etc.) are cut as the lower volume of water is treated. Basically, every $1 loss in water sales due to lower consumption reduces discretionary expenditures by only $.25. Fixed costs (labor, debt service on bonds, required maintenance) remain roughly the same, regardless of the water used.
Water treatment facilities must be run 24/7/365 days a year with minimum staffing required by the state, no matter how much water is sold. The City is also required to pay the annual debt costs for the bonds issued for the numerous projects such as the microfiltration and reverse osmosis plant. Additionally, the City still has to fix broken water lines and make other emergency repairs to the system to keep it functional.
Water rates had to be increased to meet unfunded state and federal mandates, supply and material price increases, fuel price increases, and electricity and gas hikes.
In 2013, City staff modified the rate structure so that more fixed costs are front-loaded or reflected in the base water charge everyone pays, even before the first gallon of water is sold. This is commonly referred to as a "readiness to serve charge." The obvious advantage of doing this is that it flattens the "peaks and valleys" as we sell dramatically more or less water yearly, making our revenue stream more predictable.
Rest assured, this problem is not just the Wichita Falls phenomenon. It is happening everywhere. Numerous public water systems across the State of Texas are in some form of drought restrictions, as we are triggering drought restrictions here in Wichita Falls.
The average residential water bill in Wichita Falls (water only, not trash, stormwater fee, etc.) is currently between $28 and $46 per month. This maintains three lakes that supply our water, several pump stations and pipelines to move lake water to the City's two treatment plants, the actual treatment of the water to state and federal standards, the maintenance of hundreds of miles of distribution system pipeline and for the meter reading and billing to 35,000 customers. According to JD Power and Associates, the average monthly cell phone bill for an individual (in 2012) was $71. They further reported that their total cell phone bill could easily top $200/month for a family of four with smartphones. According to Consumer Reports, the average monthly Cable TV bill in 2014 was more than $120. Natural gas and electricity prices are also higher than a monthly water bill. Water is one of the most economical products we use compared to these standard fees.
The bill you receive indicates the previous and current meter readings. The difference between these numbers yields the consumption or Units. Each Unit equals 748 gallons.
A CCF is 100 cubic feet of water or 748 gallons, also called a Unit.
The billing system is set up to use cubic feet. To convert the system to gallons would require all meters to be changed and the billing system to be replaced.
The City began restoring the water supply during the last two droughts (1995 - 2000 and 2011 - 2015). The City constructed the Microfiltration/Reverse Osmosis plant, which enabled us to bring Lake Kemp online as a water source, providing an additional 10 million gallons of water daily. Without this supply, the impacts of the last drought would have been much more dramatic. The City also began pursuing the Reuse Projects in April of 2012, with lake levels just slightly under 60% capacity or Stage 1 of the drought plan. The City did not wait too long to begin the search for additional supplies and will continue to search for additional water sources, such as the building of Lake Ringgold.
Yes. Due to significant requirements from state and local agencies, this project will cost at least $350 million and take fifteen to twenty years to build.
Neither the Corps of Engineers nor a highway contractor offered to dredge Lake Wichita for free. The City does not use the lake as a water source.
Lake Wichita is also only 1/60th the size of Lake Arrowhead. If used as a water source under peak demand conditions, the lake would be empty in 36 days. Additionally, the water in Lake Wichita comes from Lake Kemp, so the water would be too salty to use unless it was run through the RO (Reverse Osmosis) Plant.
Fines are as follows:
The fines are designed to discourage discretionary water use, such as watering lawns, so citizens have enough water for health and daily living. The city only receives a portion of a fine. The State of Texas mandates that $64 of every fine be paid to the State.
The Water Resources Commission is a group of citizen volunteers who review the City’s Conservation and Drought Plans and make appropriate recommendations to the City Council for changes.
The decrease in lake levels results from a natural drought cycle in the region of Texas. As temperatures stay warmer throughout the year, and there is a lack of precipitation during the same time, the lakes receive less runoff while the existing water evaporates into the atmosphere. Reducing how much we take out of the lake will help extend its levels and get us to a cooler/wetter cycle time.
A drought plan is a document mandated by the State of Texas for each Public Water Supply to have on file. It directs the actions that a Public Water Supply takes to try and conserve as much water as possible in the event of a natural drought or man-made emergency. The City's drought plan has been enacted during the last two droughts and has proven effective. These plans are updated every five years and submitted to the State of Texas for approval. The City updated the latest plan in 2018. This plan included several innovations to make it more effective (taking into account lessons learned from the drought of 2011-2015.
The Main Repair Shop is open from Monday through Friday from 5:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. The Service Station is open from 7:00 AM Monday through 7:00 AM Saturday, for oil changes, tire work and minor automotive repairs.
From 5:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., please call 761-7931. After 5:00 p.m., please call 761-7935. If you are unable to reach anyone, call 720-5000.
Most of the City fleet is on a 12-14 month cycle for complete maintenance. Central Services staff refers to this as a “PM-C.” The vehicle will be scheduled for this downtime, and you will be notified in advance. Police patrol cars are usually scheduled on a 1 year rotation for PM-C work. If a repair needs to be made, however, do not wait for the scheduled PM-C to get the problem corrected.
Call 761-7926 to check the status of any unit at Central Services for repair or maintenance.
Different types of Equipment are set for service according to the best practices for the environment they operate in. The oil needs to be changed every 5,000 miles for most light duty vehicles. Equipment used in harsh environments are scheduled from 100 to 600 hours. If you have any questions on your specific equipment, please contact the Automotive Service Coordinator at 761-7935.
Patrol Cars & Staff Cars: 35 PSI, 3/4 &1 ton Pickups: 80 PSI Large Trucks: 105-120 PSI Other Equipment: You may also find your specific tire info on the information sticker located on the drivers door jamb. Contact the Service Station at 761-7935 ( Always follow manufacturers specifications )
This causes complications. Central Services keeps close track of each unit’s performance and expenditures. Please contact the Service Station staff if you need fuel immediately. If a fuel card needs to be replaced you can go to the Central Services administrative office between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.or to the Service Station office to get a new card.
Please walk around car wash to Service Station for assistance.
Contact Fleet Maintenance Administrative Office located adjacent to City Wichita Falls Credit Union or call 940-761-7926.
We anticipate another auction in August please check back with here for more details or go to Govdeals.com .
Contact the City of Wichita Falls Purchasing Agent at 761-7466 or the Fleet Maintenance Parts Room Manager at 761-7654.
New employee's need to have their employee ID number put in the system before they can fuel vehicles. They can do this by going to the Central Services office or to the City's Service Station and get that info put uploaded.
Fueling the unit. Go to the fuel sentry located at the front of the Service Station, Touch the screen and follow the voice prompts. Them begin fueling
-Aggressive animals -Dog or Cat bites with Human Exposure and broken skin on humans. - Stray Animals with life threatening injuries. - Loose livestock. - Dead animals that are a traffic hazard. - Wild animals in homes. - Venomous snakes in homes. - Dogs attacking other animals. - Owner arrested with an animal in the vehicle. - Skunks out in daylight hours only
Animals that show some type of ownership: collar, tags or microchip are kept 5 days while every effort to find their owners is made.
Animals that come in without a collar, tag or microchip are held for three days to give their owners time to locate and reclaim them.
Yes! All dogs and cats four months of age or over shall be licensed. This is a red Texas shaped tag and is different than the rabies tag. This helps us get your pet back home faster in case your pet gets lost. We can easily look up the tag number in our data system and reunite you with your pet before even bringing them to the shelter. Your pet has to have a current rabies vaccination in order to get their City licenses.. City licenses run concurrently with the rabies vaccination of your pet. Currently, the cost of a license for altered animals is $7 for a one year license, $15 for a two year license, and $20 for a three year license. For animals that are not altered, the fee is $30 for a one year license, $60 for a two year, and $90 for a three year license. Dogs must wear their City license at all times.
This depends. Anyone inside of Wichita County must have a permit to sell or give away food to the general public, unless the food falls under the Texas Cottage Food Law.
Only Cottage Foods may be prepared at home. Cottage Food Laws and Information can be found here.
Cottage Foods that may be produced in the home are:
For more information click here.
If your employer sells or serves food that is not pre-packaged, the answer is yes. Even Cottage Food Operations must have food handlers cards.
Examples of pre-packaged foods include chips, candy, milk, ice cream, frozen entrees, etc. and would not require a food handler card.
Anyone inside the city limits of Wichita Falls, Burkburnett, Iowa Park, and Electra with a public or semi-public aquatic facility must have a permit. Please contact the Wichita Falls-Wichita County Public Health District Environmental Health Division at 940-761-7820. Residential home pools do not require a permit.
Classes are scheduled throughout the year. For the most up-to-date schedule click here.
Yes, you need to contact the Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Licensing for our area at 940-249-0172.
Yes, a Food Permit is required. Please contact the Wichita Falls-Wichita County Public Health District Environmental Health Division at 940-761-7820.
When they have a fever, diarrhea, or are vomiting.
Different chemicals used in sanitation have different requirements. It is important to read the label on your chemical and follow its application for its specific use. Do not use chemicals in any manor other that those specifically listed on the label. This is for your safety.
Contact the Wichita Falls-Wichita County Public Health District's Environmental Health Division at 940-761-7820.
If the same guest is staying in the same room for an extended amount of time, then they must be changed at a minimum of once per week. Otherwise, the sheets and towels should be changed after each guest leaves per our local ordinance found here.
All permitted businesses must adhere to the Texas Health and Human Services Tattoo and Body Piercing Studio Laws and Federal Laws. Body Art Establishments in the city limits of Wichita Falls must also follow our local Body Art Ordinance.
Office Hours for Home Birth are: 8am-3:30pm Monday-Friday 940-761-7802
Probably the best way is to use the Access City Hall link on the lower left hand corner of each page. This will allow you to receive a number and track your complaint. Or, you may call the Water Pollution Division at 940-761-7822 and give them your complaint. We will track it and keep you informed of progress. You need to understand that some problems may be resolved in a few hours, but others may take a few days or weeks to resolve, depending upon the circumstances. We will keep you advised of progress on your complaint. Please be advised, however, that we can only deal with complaints within the City of Wichita Falls. We do not handle complaints outside the City as we have no jurisdiction there.
City of Wichita Falls Ordinance 62-2004 reqiures that all restaurant and food serving facilities be permitted to discharge grease into the sewage system of Wichita Falls. The requirements for a permit are submission of a completed Grease Trap Application form, the obtaining of a Service Contract for the servicing, maintnenance, and pumping of your trap, and payment of the permit fee. We will then inspect your trap and facility and if it meets code, you will be issued a Grease Grap Permit. If not, then you must make necessary improvements before a Grease Trap/Food Permit can be issued. If you have any questions at all regarding Grease Traps and this program please call 940-761-7822 and we can assist you with any question you may have.
According to the U.S. Census Bureau's Annual Population Estimates analysis the City of Wichita Falls was estimated to have a population of 104,724 residents as of July 1, 2016. The Census Bureau releases city and county population estimates annually. The official U.S. Census Bureau decennial census population count taken in 2010 was 104,553.
The Texas Demographic Center (University of Texas at San Antonio) also prepares annual population estimates for cities and counties within the state. According to their methodologies, the City of Wichita Falls had an estimated population of 105,033 as of January 1, 2016.Comparison of U.S. Census Bureau and Texas Demographic Center Population Estimates:
The estimates presented by the Texas Demographic Center differ from those from other sources, such as those periodically produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, for several reasons. The Texas Demographic Center estimates have been made using techniques that are different than those used by the Bureau. The Census Bureau uses only the distributive housing unit method to estimate place populations and the administrative records method to estimate county populations. Because the administrative records method uses income tax data that are not available to analysts outside the Census Bureau, this technique cannot be used by other agencies. In addition, the estimates from the Texas Demographic Center utilize more recent data than those used by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. The Census Bureau's county estimates utilize 2014 birth and death data, whereas 2015 values were employed in the Texas Demographic Center estimates. Also, the Census Bureau utilizes birth and death data only in their county level estimates while the Texas Demographic Center includes current births and deaths in both county and place level estimates. Finally, the Census Bureau estimates include legal boundary updates reported before January 1, 2015 but do not include more recent information for places, whereas information on annexation and boundary changes through the 2015 calendar year were included in the estimates completed by the Texas program. Because of these differences, the population estimates from the Texas Demographic Center and those from the U.S. Bureau of the Census are not directly comparable.
6:00 A.M. -8:00 P.M 7 days a week
We have both self service and full service fuel
When arriving ask the front desk clerk for a code. If you arrive after hours and need to get back in you may call 720-5000 for assistance
Yes.Cobra Kai Aviation 940-263- 1168Texas Aviators 940-475- 1527
Twin Creek Aviation 940-733- 1161 (Cessna 152 and Cessna 172)Cobra Kai 940-263- 1168
The new residential leases are $1,000.00 annually. This lease rate gets reviewed every five years for a possible lease rate increase not to exceed 30% of the current rate. Leases eligible to be transferred vary in amounts and would be tied to a specific lease.
First, visit a local lender to become pre-qualified for a standard, fixed-rate mortgage loan. Participating lenders are listed on the brochure that describes the First-Time Homebuyers Program. Be certain to tell the bank you would like to apply for the City’s First Time Homebuyer Program.
After approval, call the Neighborhood Resources Division office at 940-761-7448 to make an appointment to apply for the FTHB Program. We will discuss the remainder of the qualification process and answer any questions you might have.
The City of Wichita Falls does not perform a credit check for any of our programs; however, to participate, you will need to be able to qualify for a standard mortgage (no sub-prime, balloon, or adjustable rate loans allowed).
If you occupy the home you purchased as your principal residence for the required time period - usually 5 or 10 years depending upon amount of assistance - no repayment is required. This required time period is known as the Period of Affordability. However, if you sell your home, rent your home to another person, experience a foreclosure, or fail to occupy the home as your principal residence before the end of the Period of Affordability, you could be required to repay all or part of the assistance provided you.
No, this assistance is provided in the form of a deferred payment loan, and no interest is charged. On each anniversary of the closing date (as long as you are occupying the home as your principal residence), a certain percentage of the assistance provided is forgiven.
Yes. The City of Wichita Falls housing inspector will inspect the home you want to purchase to insure the home meets the applicable minimum property standards for the FTHB Program. The FTHB Program inspection does not replace or serve as a private inspection. You can also obtain a professional home inspection that will give you a comprehensive evaluation of the condition of the home, and you are encouraged to consider engaging this service.
If you are a single parent who has custody of and is caring for minor children, and are divorced or legally separated from their former spouse, you could be eligible to apply for the FTHB Program.
The home buying process requires many steps, and involves many different parties, a variety of inspections, verifications, etc., and can take several weeks to complete. Once Neighborhood Resources receives your completed application, sends and receives back the employment and income verifications, we have what is needed to determine if you qualify. After the City performs an inspection of the property, a list of any required repairs will be sent to the realtors involved. Once those repairs have been completed, the home is re-inspected by the City inspector. When household income has been verified and the home passes inspection, you are approved for the FTHB Program.
No, you don’t have to be a senior. Our program is income based on family house hold size.
No, you may still have a lien on your house however you must be able to provide a warranty deed that states you as the home owner.
No, should you qualify for assistance we have a list of approved contractors that we chose based on bid and work.
Unfortunately we do not pay for any work that is not approved by our program.
Because of our limited funds and applicant pool, we limit the number of times a homeowner can use the program to once a year at which point you must be placed on a waiting until we finish our fiscal year at which point we can determine if there are enough funds to help second home owner request.
All household income must be included on the application. Anyone occupying the home over the age of 18 with any income (including benefits) will be required to be on the application.
The City Council, as a part of the 2019 and 2021 Strategic Plan objectives, recognized the importance of revitalizing declining neighborhoods. The Planning Division is creating a Neighborhood Revitalization Initiative that will begin by working with the community to change the path of their neighborhood. Based on the community needs staff will be putting into place multiyear programs and ordinances to reshape each neighborhood.
The first neighborhood selected as part of the program is the Central Wichita Falls Revitalization Area. This area includes properties south of Seymour Hwy., east of Kemp Blvd., north of Kell Fwy. W. and west of Brook Ave. The area was originally identified by the City Council and staff as part in the City Council’s 2019 Strategic Plan. Key factors such as the number and current condition of housing; housing affordability; potential for commercial business expansion and revitalization; availability of adequate public infrastructure led to its selection as the initial revitalization area. The future revitalization of the area also took on increased importance with the passage of the bond to build two new high schools in 2020 as the future use of the Wichita Falls Old High property will play a significant part in the revitalization efforts for the area.
As efforts for this initial neighborhood begin taking shape, additional neighborhoods will be added to the initiative.
Click here Map
The Initiative will begin with a series of public meetings with residents, business owners, and property owners and other neighborhood groups or organization within the neighborhood. These public meetings will be opportunities for City staff to have a conversation with the neighborhood and gather their input about their vision for the neighborhood, current successes and current challenges. Following the initial public visioning meeting, staff will begin to compile information and form smaller committees, made up of neighborhood representatives for further discussion on the improvement efforts and their execution. Additional area input meetings and updates will also be conducted with the neighborhood, Planning and Zoning Commission, and City Council to discuss progress.
Following the public engagement process, staff will begin development of any needed ordinances, programs and/or other elements needed for program implementation.
Those wishing to receive updates on the City’s neighborhood revitalization efforts can sign up through the City of Wichita Falls’ Notify Me page to receive email updates or contact the City of Wichita Falls Planning Division at (940) 761-7451 email firstname.lastname@example.org with questions or input.
In addition to the public engagement meeting, a short, online questionnaire is also available for those who live and/or own property and businesses in the area to provide their input. Those wishing to take the survey can click here.
The Holliday Creek Trail System is 7.1 miles long and can be accessed from Hamilton Park Tennis Center, North Weeks Park, several points along Weeks Lane, South Weeks Park, Lake Wichita spillway, and Lake Wichita Park. More...
Carports are allowed to be built in the front setback, or in the exterior side setback on corner lots. However, if being constructed within the first 5 foot from the property line or from the side exterior it will require a conditional use permit from the Planning and Zoning Commission. As part of this process notification letters are sent to owners of neighboring properties within 200 feet of the applicant’s property. The Commission will look at neighborhood responses when making a decision to approve or deny a particular request for a carport. It is a good idea to also check for possible deed restrictions. Some subdivisions may prohibit them. Contact the Planning Division for application and fee information.
A law enforcement officer who, in the regular course of duty, investigates a motor vehicle accident shall make a written report of the accident if the accident resulted in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person the apparent extent of $1,000 or more.
Reports are available to the public, for free, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. the Records Clerk Section provides Crash Reports for $6.00, Offense Reports for $.10 per printed page, Clearance letters are $5.00 (only available from 8:00 a.m. -4:30 p.m.), Certified Copies are $2.00 per document. Please get in touch with the Records Clerk division for more information. (940) 761-7782.
To view active calls, click here.
Beginning in March 2017, City Council set a Strategic Plan goal of “Redevelopment of Downtown” during their annual retreat. Within that goal, the Council also established the creation of a comprehensive Downtown Master Plan as one of the goal objectives. In April 2017, the Council appointed a Downtown Steering Committee (DTSC) comprised of a number of Downtown stakeholders, tenants and city staff to begin work on the master plan. The consulting firm of Freese and Nichols was hired to work with the DTSC and associated subcommittees on the master plan development for Council consideration and approval. The DTSC and city staff worked with Freese and Nichols for over a year, and recommended the 13-point plan to the City Council in August 2018.
In September 18, 2018, the Wichita Falls City Council approved recommendations of the DTSC and directed staff to begin implementation of those approved recommendations. One of the recommendations approved by City Council included enhanced property maintenance in the defined greater downtown area. Upon City Council approval, staff was directed to seek a greater downtown property maintenance code (PMC), which ultimately included the development of a Vacant Structure Registry Ordinance (VSRO) as a key element, from among various alternatives presented to help establish a higher level of property maintenance in the greater downtown area. This enhanced maintenance is designed to help prevent further deterioration and neglected maintenance of buildings and properties that have plagued downtown for decades.
Initial committee/staff work on the PMC/VSRO began in February 2019, but due to a vacancy in the Development Services Director position beginning shortly thereafter, progress on the code stalled. Additionally, in September 2019, the DTSC charge from City Council of developing a Downtown Master Plan had ended, and the committee effectively “sunsetted”.
Following the hiring of a new director in September 2019, staff re-established a working group of Downtown property owners, the Director of Downtown Wichita Falls, Inc., Planning Commission members and city staff to review previous work on the PMC/VSRO and finalize an ordinance for Council consideration and future implementation. The new working group began work in January 2020, but public meetings to discuss the proposed ordinances stalled due to the COVID-19 crisis. On December 1, 2020, staff and the working group held a virtual forum to present the ordinance and answer any questions from downtown property owners and/or the general public. Questions from the forum and subsequent feedback following the meeting was generally positive and questions were minimal.
The Wichita Falls City Council adopted the Ordinance on February 2, 2021, which establishes a Downtown Property Maintenance District by adopting portions of the 2015 International Property Maintenance Code for the greater downtown area. The ordinance will begin implemented on October 1, 2021.
The property maintenance code in the greater downtown area is intended to be applied only to non-residential properties that comprise the greater downtown area.
The PMC seeks to reach and maintain property compliance by:
The ordinance consists primarily of Chapter 3 of International Property Maintenance Code (IMPC) which guides exterior maintenance of a structure. Although the International Property Maintenance Code in its entirety regulates many other aspects of property maintenance, the focus from previous recommendations and input has been primarily on exterior maintenance for the downtown area. The included IMPC sections cover areas of property maintenance that are not covered in current City ordinances and regulations.
The property maintenance code in the greater downtown area is intended to be applied only to non-residential properties that comprise the Greater Downtown Area as defined in the Ordinance. Click here for a map of the Greater Downtown Area.
October 1, 2021
A brief description of the sections of Chapter 3 of the IMPC that are included in the proposed ordinance are listed below:
Click her to view Property Maintenance Code
Please click here for NotifyMe
City of Wichita FallsProperty/ Lake Lot AdministrationPO Box 1431Wichita Falls TX 76307
Bus passes may be purchased at the Downtown Travel Center located at 306 Scott Street or at the Transit Office located at 2100 Seymour Highway. Take the elevator or stairs down and follow the signs that read Bus Pass until you reach the FallsRide offices. Click here for the cost of a fare.
In this example you would board the bus at the Library, which is a scheduled stop at the 10th minute of every hour. You would need to get off the bus at the Water Park, which is a bus stop but does not have a specific time of arrival.
Reading across the top row, you will find the names of the key designated stops along the route. Read down the column beneath Public Library; choose the most convenient departure time, perhaps 12:10 PM. Now read directly across from 12:10 PM, you will not find a time the bus arrives at the Water Park since it is not a scheduled stop. The next nearest scheduled stop is at US 287 at Wayfarer at 12:45 PM, one stop after passing the Water Park. The bus will stop at the Water Park, and you can assume you will arrive a few minutes before 12:45 PM.
One of the simplest rules for using timetables is to read down the departure times and across for arrival times. In some cases, when you are not getting on or off the bus at a scheduled stop, you will need to add or subtract a few minutes to the listed time of the closest key designated stops you will board or get off the bus.
Additional route and schedule information can be obtained by calling one of our information tellers at 761-7433. Go to http://www.wichitafallstx.gov/index.aspx?NID=696 for a complete list of routes.
When the bus approaches, look at the route color and name located above the windshield to make sure you are boarding the correct bus. If you're not sure, ask the driver. Have your fare or pass ready to deposit. When the bus comes to a complete stop, wait for passengers to exit before boarding. Place your money into the fare box or hand your pass/transfer to the driver for verification before taking a seat. Drivers are not allowed to handle fares or make change.
Ask the driver for a transfer if your trip requires you to ride a second bus. The transfer is good for one hour from the time it is issued. Give the transfer to the driver of the second bus you board. When the bus is approximately one block away from your stop, pull the signal strip located beside the window, or verbally inform the driver. Remain seated until the bus comes to a complete stop and then exit through the door.
Be sure you have all your belongings with you. It is recommended you wait on the curb until the bus has pulled away before attempting to cross the street. Never cross in front of or behind a standing bus.
Make sure you are registered to be notified of bids Click to Register. The City of Wichita Falls' Vendor Verification Policy outlines all of the requirements necessary to be set up in our system.
All formal bids (over $50,000) are advertised in the Legal Section of the Wichita Falls Times and Record News twice beginning 14 days prior to the bid opening. The upcoming bids will be posted on this web site and on Channel 1300. A listing of the items that are bid annually can be obtained by clicking here.
Protests After Bid Opening:• Must be submitted in writing no later than seven (7) working days prior to scheduled bid award.• Contents of protest - name of protester, bid # or description; statement of grounds for protest.• Protests shall be filed at the office of the City Purchasing Agent.• Protests shall be reviewed by the Director of the user department, Finance Director, Purchasing Agent, a representative of the City Manager’s Office and a representative of the City Attorney’s Office.• The decision of the protest committee and the documented record sustaining their decision will be submitted to the City Council and the protesting bidder at least three (3) days prior to the scheduled council meeting. The protesting bidder will have an opportunity to discuss his/her concerns at the appropriate time during the City Council meeting.• The decision of the City Council shall be final.
There are 3 easy ways to register:
For details, please visit our Facility Rentals page.
Check out our Park & Trail maps.
Please visit the Lake Lot Administration page for Area Lake Hunting Information.
Sec. 58-102. - Smoking prohibited in public places. Reference: Municode
Street lights can be installed at intersections and mid-block locations that are greater than 600 ft. from the nearest location? Go to the Street Light Page for more information.
An engineering study must be completed to determine signal warrants. Go to the Signal Page for more information.
Non-traffic control signs cannot be placed in the City ROW (right-of-way). Go to the Signs & Markings Page for more information.
Also see city ordinance number. 48-2004
Traffic counts are available. Please go to the Traffic Counts Page. Additional traffic count information can be requested at (940)761-7640.
To report a street light outage please contact the Traffic Department at (940)761-7640. or click here to submit a request online.
Residential deposits are $100.00 for single-family dwellings.
Multi-family dwellings are $65.00 per unit when served by one meter.
Commercial minimum deposits are $110.00
Other business deposits are calculated based on comparable business use applied to current rates for water, sewer, and refuse.
b. The interest drawn by the City on customer deposits is returned into the operating budget of the water/sewer fund to help in providing the lowest possible rates.
2. Seasonal increases due to increased usage, such as lawn watering, children's wading pools, additional laundry, and washing automobiles.
3. An error in the current reading or having been previously under-read.
4. The meter has been recently uncovered and read.
The Downtown Vacant Structure Registry Ordinance (VSRO) is for the greater downtown area. The VRSO in the greater downtown area will apply only to non-residential properties that are located in the greater downtown area.
The purposes of a vacant property registration ordinance (VSRO) include:
The DT VSRO will apply only to non-residential properties that comprise the Greater Downtown Area as defined in the Ordinance. Click here for a map of the Greater Downtown Area.
The ordinance defines a “structure” as the constructed/built primary structure on the parcel.
“Vacant” structures are defined as habitable structures which:
Registration requirements for parcels determined to be vacant by ordinance definition have 90 days to register from date of written notice, which can be extended by the Director of Development Services if evidence of property listing.
Please click the following link for our online application (add link)
General registration requirements include:
Vacant structures will be required to register annually with the City until the structure is occupied and in compliance with the ordinance.
Annual Registration Fee: ______*
Annual Inspection Fee: ______
* Registration fee reductions or waivers may apply under certain criteria as outlined in the Ordinance.
Compliance with the DT VSRO will be the responsibility of the property owner, and the City’s Building Inspections Division will be responsible for working with property owners to achieve compliance and ensuring continued compliance into the future.
Please contact the Development Services Division at 940-761-8841.
Click here for Vacant Structure Registry Ordinance.
NotifyMe link here
Water Distribution cannot assist you with your water bill- you must contact Utility Collections at 940-761-7414 for assistance, or click here for more information.
You may contact Utility Collections at 940-761-7414 to schedule a turn off to make repairs. If it is an Emergency, you may call 940-761-7414 between 8 am and 5 pm. After 5 pm, contact Water Distribution's emergency hotline at 940-761-4333.
All piping on the outlet side of the water meter is owned and maintained by the property owner, everything else contained in the meter box including the cutoff and water meter is owned and maintained by the City. Any necessary repairs to leaks on the privately owned houseline or any appurtenances connected to the privately owned houseline will be repaired by the homeowner or a certified professional. For more information, you may refer to the City of Wichita Falls Code of Ordinances, Chapter 106 - UTILITIES, ARTICLE II. WATER SERVICE.
No. The water must travel through the water meter before it will register as consumption on your water bill. Water main leaks happen on our distribution water mains and water service lines prior to any water entering the meter.
If you see an increase in your water consumption, you may have a leak on your internal water line. Please refer to this document, How to Read Your Water Meter, to learn how to check your water lines for leaks. For questions about your Water bill, you should contact Utility Collections at 940-761-7414.
If you find that your water is off, one possible reason is that we may be working on a water main leak in your area and have turned off the water main. This is done so that our crews can safely make the necessary repairs. Although we try and notify residents of an imminent outage, sometimes the residents affected are simply too large to notify in a reasonable amount of time. If you are certain we are not working on a water main leak, then you may have a leak that is causing pressure loss in the rest of your house. You can check your water meter's flow indicator to determine if you have a leak. If you need help, refer to How to Read your Water Meter or contact us at 940-761-4333.
The keys sold at local hardware stores are generic and meant for a variety of meter lids. Your key may simply need to be ground down a little to fit inside the meter lid's keyhole that we use. If you are still having trouble, you can contact us at 940-761-4333 and we will send a Field Crew to verify there isn't some other issue with your meter lid and assist you with opening it.
In January 2018, the City completed a $35 million Indirect Potable Reuse project which takes all of our wastewater effluents to Lake Arrowhead for storage and ultimate use. This project will recycle up to 16 million gallons per day.
Yes. The City implemented a comprehensive cloud seeding project in the spring of 2014 for $300,000. City officials and representatives from several surrounding counties met with state meteorologist and cloud seeding expert, George Bomar, who has worked in this field for over 39 years. Bomar indicated that cloud seeding could increase the potential rainfall production from a suitable thunderstorm by 10-15%. The City sought joint participation from other entities that could benefit from a cloud seeding operation to offset a portion of the expense.
The City cut expenses where feasible, but the cuts do not come close to making up the deficit. For example, non-fixed costs (electricity, treatment chemicals, etc.) are cut as the lower volume of water is treated. Basically, every $ 1 loss in water sales due to lower consumption reduces discretionary expenditures by only $.25. Fixed costs (labor, debt service on bonds, required maintenance) remain roughly the same, regardless of the water used.
Water treatment facilities must be run 24/7/365 days a year with minimum staffing required by the state, no matter how much water is sold. The City is also required to pay the annual debt costs for the bonds that were issued for the numerous projects such as the microfiltration and reverse osmosis plant. Additionally, the City still has to fix broken water lines and make other emergency repairs to the system to keep it functional.
Water rates had to be increased in order to meet unfunded state and federal mandates, supply and material price increases, fuel price increases, electricity and gas hikes.
The average residential water bill in Wichita Falls (water only, not trash, stormwater fee, etc.) is currently between$28 and $46 per month. This maintains three lakes that supply our water, several pump stations and pipelines to move lake water to the City's two treatment plants, the actual treatment of the water to state and federal standards, the maintenance of hundreds of miles of distribution system pipeline and for the meter reading and billing to 35,000 customers. According to JD Power and Associates, the average monthly cell phone bill for an individual (in 2012) was $71. They further reported that their total cell phone bill could easily top $200/month for a family of four with smartphones. According to Consumer Reports, the average monthly Cable TV bill in 2014 was more than $120. Natural gas and electricity prices are also higher than a monthly water bill. Water is one of the most economical products we use compared to these standard fees
The City began taking action to shore up the water supply during the last two droughts (95/00 and 11/15). The City constructed the Microfiltration/Reverse Osmosis plant, which enabled us to bring Lake Kemp online as a water source, providing an additional 10 million gallons of water per day. Without this supply, the impacts of the last drought would have been much more dramatic. This City also began pursuing both the Reuse Projects in April of 2012, with lake levels just slightly under 60% capacity or Stage 1 of the drought plan. The City did not wait too long to begin the search for additional supplies and will continue to search for additional water sources, such as the building of Lake Ringgold.
Yes. This project will cost at least $350 million and take fifteen to twenty years to build due to significant requirements from state and local agencies.
Why didn't the City dredge Lake Wichita when the Corps of Engineers or highway contractors offered? Neither the Corps of Engineers nor a highway contractor has offered to dredge Lake Wichita for free. The City does not use the lake as a water source.
Lake Wichita is also only 1/60th the size of Lake Arrowhead. If used as a water source under peakdemand conditions, the lake would be empty in 36 days. Additionally, the water in Lake Wichita comes from Lake Kemp, so the water would be too salty to use unless it were run through the RO (Reverse Osmosis) Plant.
Dredging is extremely expensive. Current estimates range from $75 to $90 million. There are cheaper options available to increase our water supply such as water recycling or a reuse program.
Dredging operations in the State of Texas are permitted through the Corps of Engineers. Getting the permits required to begin dredging would take six to nine months. The dredged material is required to be tested for contaminants. If contaminants are found, the material must be disposed of at a permitted site approved by the Corps. The lake is not used as a water source, and dredging for recreational purposes is not financially feasible at this time.
Castaway Cove Water Park uses less water than a standard hotel and less than most car washes. The annual water consumption at the park is less than 3/100 of one percent of the city's total water use. Like a home pool, the water is recirculated and filtered. The pools are kept full during the winter months to reduce water use. As with any pool or body of water, evaporation occurs, especially during hot or windy days. To comply with City restrictions, the park has turned off various sprays to reduce water loss due to evaporation and irrigation (watering landscaping).
The Water Resources Commission is a sub-committee of the City Council. The commission is responsible for reviewing all pertinent data and making appropriate recommendations for City Council action.
The decrease in lake levels results from a natural drought cycle in the region of Texas. As temperatures stay warmer, longer into the year, and there is a lack of precipitation during the same time, the lakes receive less runoff while the existing water is evaporated into the atmosphere. Reducing how much we take out of the lake will help extend its levels and get us to a cooler/wetter cycle time.
A drought plan is a document mandated by the State of Texas for each Public Water Supply to have on file. It directs the actions that a Public Water Supply takes to try and conserve as much water as possible in the event of a natural drought or man-made emergency. The City's drought plan has been enacted during the last two droughts and has proven effective. These plans are updated every five years and submitted to the State of Texas for approval. The City updated the latest plan in 2018. This plan included several innovations to make it more effective (taking into account lessons that were learned from the drought of 2011-1015.
If you have an existing water well, yes.
If you plan on digging a water well, you must register and receive authorization from Public Works to dig the well BEFORE digging.
If your rainwater harvesting or hauled water storage system exceeds 3,000 gallons of storage, yes.
If your gray-water system produces a maximum daily amount of over 400 gallons per day, yes.
Please fill out and return the form and send it to
P.O. Box 1431
Wichita Falls, TX 76307
Phone: (940) 761-7477
If you have deactivated your Water Well, you will still need to register its location and certify it has been properly capped/plugged.
If you dug the well yourself, list yourself as the driller. If this is an existing well or the well existed before you bought the property, state that you need the driller information. For New Wells, the driller information must be included for approval by Public Works.
Total all of the appurtenances that contribute to the gray-water system. For sinks, use their gpm rating and estimate how long each will run in a day. For Tubs and Washing Machines, use the maximum volume for each and how many times a day they would be used. If the total of all these components is over 400 gallons daily, you must register the system.
If you have a permanent, in-ground irrigation system connected to the City Municipal Water Supply, you have to have a Backflow Prevention Device. If you have disconnected your permanent, in-ground irrigation system from the City Municipal Water Supply and are only using Well Water or Auxiliary Water, then an RPZ Backflow Prevention Device is not needed. If you have connected your Well Water or Auxiliary Water source to your irrigation system, and it is still connected to the City Municipal Water Supply, then you will need an RPZ Backflow Prevention Device. If you are running a temporary, movable irrigation system not connected to the City Municipal Water Supply, then you do not need an RPZ Back Flow Prevention Device.